Aasbo wins UAE Invitational

Turbosmart-sponsored member of the Team Need for Speed, Fredric Aasbo came out on top at the Formula Drift UAE Invitational by defeating 2009 Formula Drift Champ, Chris Forsberg, in the finals. Another Team Need for Speed’s driver, “Mad” Mike Whiddett finished the event in a very respectable fourth place, after his battle in the consolation round against two-time Formula Drift Champion, Tanner Foust.The event marks the first time in history that Formula Drift has competed at Yas Marina Circuit. “Having a Formula Drift event at what is probably the world’s most impressive racing facility, says a lot about how far the sport has progressed in under ten years,” says Fredric. “It started out on Japanese mountain roads, and now we are drifting at the number one state-of-the-art Formula 1 facility located in the geographical centre of the world. For a boy that learned to drive on snowy Scandinavian backroads, this is the ultimate drifting “I just can’t believe it,” says Fredric. “As I initially struggled to adapt to the line and qualified last, I was able to step it up throughout the competition and end up on top of the podium. Sometimes you achieve milestones you will never forget, and Formula Drift at the incredible Yas Marina Circuit marks the best day of my life!”Photos by Jose J. Martinez, official Formula Drift photographer

Share this Post!Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrShare on LinkedInShare on StumbleUpon