NZ Drift Round 3

Report courtesy of NZ Performance Car magazine.

Despite the soaking conditions, Auckland’s Mad Mike Whiddett dominated the competition at round three of the newly named NOS Energy NZ Drift Series in association with NAC Insurance yesterday at Taupo Motorsport Park to secure his first win of the 2009 NZ Drift Series season. Carrying his podium-finishing form to Taupo, Mike backed-up his second and third place finishes at the opening two rounds respectively with a spot on the top step.

Chasing Mike to the podium was double-defending NZ Drift Series champion, Carl Ruiterman, who returned to his first final battle since round two in 2008. It was a welcomed return to form for Carl, who qualified second and carried onto the second spot on the podium.

Claiming to be his favoured circuit, Cole Armstrong proved why he will be one to watch over the coming years, scoring the final step on the podium.

In a bizarre twist of fate, championship leader, Gaz Whiter, missed out on his third consecutive round win – and a spot on the podium – when he lost out to Cole for third.

Round four of the NOS Energy NZ Drift Series returns to the home of drifting in NZ – Pukekohe Park Raceway – on Saturday, October 17.

Turbosmart is a proud sponsor of Mike’s RX-8, the car uses exclusively Turbosmart wastegates, BOVs, fuel pressure regulators and silicone hoses.