Team Turbosmart success at Goodwood Festival of Speed

The Goodwood Festival of Speed has wrapped up for another year, and as always, there was no shortage of rare and exotic metal to drool over. Team Turbosmart was also out in force, turning heads, putting on a show for the crowds, and even winning the event’s gruelling hillclimb.

Photo courtesy of Goodwood Road & Racing

Peter Pentell made a splash with his striking Lancia ‘LaSupra’. This Frankenstein car might annoy the Lancia purists, but for the rest of us, it’s a fantastic celebration of a beautiful car with some seriously potent running gear, and an awesome aero kit that complements the whole thing beautifully. The 1992 Delta Evolution 1 had the original powertrain removed after a series of failures and the desire for more power. An engine swap was decided upon to deliver more power and reliability – a 2JZ from a Toyota Supra was expertly installed to replace the Lancia’s temperamental Italian heart. Supporting that engine is a Turbosmart Race Port BOV and FPR1200 fuel pressure regulator.

Posted by Goodwood Festival of Speed on Saturday, 25 June 2016

The aero kit is magnificently designed and sets off the build perfectly – although the extra width can cause issues on tracks as narrow as the Goodwood hillclimb. As you can see in the video above, Peter clipped a hay bale on the run, damaging some of the aero. Nonetheless, it looks as though it’s something Lancia themselves would have built in the ’80s to take on Pikes Peak. Today, the LaSupra races in UK Time Attack and we’re proud to have it on Team Turbosmart!

Mad Mike Whiddett treated Lord March himself to a slide around the tight hillclimb circuit in BADBUL, an 800hp Mazda RX8 drift car, equipped with Turbosmart PowerGate wastegate, Race Port BOV and Fuel Pressure Regulator. The final run was cut short when the car snapped an axle, but the six previous runs up the hill gave the crowds a taste of Mike’s car control skills, with the winning soundtrack of a screaming rotary along the way.

Finally, Roger Clark Motorsport’s ‘Gobstopper II’ Time Attack Subaru Impreza continued its domination of the hillclimb, setting the Festival’s fastest time for the second year running. While he didn’t beat his record breaking run from last year, Olly Clark’s drive was enough to win the top spot once again – crossing the line in 46.297 seconds to beat Kenny Brack’s McLaren P1 LM.

Producing 780hp from its heavily-worked Subaru EJ20, Gobstopper II is fitted with a Turbosmart ProGate-50 wastegate and Race Port BOV.

With hundreds of thousands of spectators turning out for the 20th Festival of Speed, Team Turbosmart definitely put on a stellar show for the car enthusiast masses.