Team Turbosmart’s Odi Bakchis wins Formula Drift Round 6

Team Turbosmart’s Aurimas ‘Odi’ Bakchis has won the sixth round of the Formula Drift championship, held at Evergreen Speedway in Monroe, WA on August 5-6.

After qualifying in second place, Odi’s impeccable technique and style throughout the event saw him edge out his competitors in each round. Driving his Turbosmart-equipped supercharged LS7-engined Hyundai Genesis Coupe, Odi came out victorious against Forrest Wang, Frederic Aasbo, and Ken Gushi to make his way into the final.

For the final battle, Odi went head-to-head with championship points leader Chris Forsberg. Bakchis led the final battle with a precise lead run where Forsberg made contact with Bakchis and spun in the infield. Once in the chase position Bakchis exhibited extraordinary car control as he stayed close to Forsberg, yet still avoiding contact when Forsberg again over-rotated on track. Bakchis was unanimously awarded the event win by the judges.

“I’m really happy with the win,” Odi told Formula Drift following the event. “I really want to keep this momentum going into the next round and am excited for the rest of the season.”

Odi currently sits in fourth place in the overall championship. Round 7 heads to Fort Worth, Texas on September 9-10.